Breaking News
April 18, 2010

AMIE, AMIETE, DOEACC Courses – alternative engineering courses

There are many among us, who were not fortunate enough to undertake engineering qualifications through the engineering colleges – the formal way to earn an engineering degree. Should we lose hope in such cases? NO! Because you can still earn those degrees through non-formal engineering courses, which are recognised by Govt. of India and hence you are eligible for the Govt. & Public Sector jobs as well as for admissions to higher studies.

Which are these alternative engineering courses recognised by Govt. of India? From where can you get more information about these courses? This is the subject matter of this blog post.

AMIE Courses:
AMIE Courses
AMIE stands for Associate Member of the Institution of Engineers. It is a professional certification given by Institution of Engineers (India), which is the largest multi-disciplinary engineering professional society in the English speaking world.

AMIE qualification is recognised by Ministry of HRD, Government of India as equivalent to B.E./ B.Tech and hence with this qualification, you can participate in competitive examinations like the Civil Services, Indian Engineering Services, GATE, etc.

To earn AMIE qualification, you need to pass two AMIE exams:
i) Section A exam + Project Work
ii) Section B exam.
Section-A is common to all while Section-B is specific to the branch of engineering chosen by you.
Minimum duration for passing both sections is 4 years, however with a 3 year Diploma qualification; you can complete it in 3 years since some examination papers of Section A would be exempted. 
List of AMIE engineering branches:
You can obtain the AMIE degree from following 15 disciplines:
Aerospace Engineering.
Agricultural Engineering.
Architectural Engineering.
Chemical Engineering.
Civil Engineering.
Computer Science & Engineering.
Electrical Engineering.
Electronics and Communication Engineering.
Environmental Engineering.
Marine Engineering.
Mechanical Engineering.
Materials and Metallurgical Engineering.
Mining Engineering.
Production Engineering.
Textile Engineering.

Eligibility for AMIE courses:
You can enroll for AMIE courses after passing Class-XII as well as after passing Diploma in Engineering.

To appear for AMIE courses after Class-XII, you need enroll as a Technician Member. The eligibilities for doing so are – you need to be minimum 17 years and passed Class-XII or equivalent with English, Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics with 45% marks in each subject.

To appear for AMIE courses after Diploma in Engineering, you need enroll as a Senior Technician Member.

You can find more about the AMIE eligibilities here.

AMIE reference materials:
You can find more about AMIE exam from following websites:

AMIETE Courses:
AMIETE Courses
Similar to AMIE certification awarded by Institution of Engineers, AMIETE is a certification awarded by Institution of Electronics & Telecommunication Engineers (IETE) and “AM” in “AMIETE” stands for “Associate Member” of “IETE”.

AMIETE branches:
AMIETE certification is awarded for only following three branches:
i) Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering,
ii) Computer Science & Engineering.
iii) Information Technology streams.

AMIETE Eligibility:
i) Min. 16 years age.
ii) Passed 10+2 or equivalent with Physics & Mathematics as mandatory subjects and working experience in relevant field OR
Studying for higher qualification with Physics/Electrical/Electronics/Computers.
iii) Diploma in Electronics Telecommunication / Electrical / Computers or diploma in any Engg/Technology courses (3 yr diploma) subject to the candidate having covered subjects of Maths & Physics of 10+2 level during the diploma courses.

Besides AMIETE, IETE also offers DIPIETE certification for Diploma in engineering in following branches:
i) Electronics &Telecommunication &
ii) Computer Science & Engineering

In addition IETE offers ALCCS (Advanced Level Course in Computer Science), which is treated as equivalent to M. Tech in Computer Science.

AMIETE reference materials:
You can find more about AMIETE exam from following websites:
AMIETE Recognitions:

DOEACC Courses:
DOEACC Courses
DOEACC is an autonomous body of the Department of Information Technology, Govt. of India. It offers a variety of course options at various levels:
DOEACC “O” level: Equivalent to Foundation Level Course in Computer Applications.
DOEACC “A” level: Equivalent to Advanced Diploma in Computer Applications.
DOEACC “B” level: Equivalent to MCA.
DOEACC “C” level: Equivalent to M.Tech.
You can find more about the DOEACC courses from above links, along with the eligibilities for each level.

Disadvantages of non-formal engineering course:
One major disadvantage of earning a professional qualification through these non-formal engineering courses is that although you can get job & admissions in Government & PSU organisations/institutes, they are either not recognised or not held in equal esteem as formal engineering courses by Private Sector.

However, this should not deter you from taking up the courses, as with good academic record, sound domain knowledge and persistence people gets job even in private sector, besides Govt/PSU jobs. You can find such instances of people doing very good in reputed companies like two profiles below shown by DOEACC in "outstanding Success of DOEACC qualified IT Proffessionals":
Paramdeep Singh, Tech. Project Manager, Zenith Consulting Inc., USA: Obtained DOEACC "A" level.
Arti Aggrawal, Project Engineer, Wipro Tec., Bangalore: Obtained DOEACC "B" level.

So with above, if you had missed out engineering courses for some reasons earlier, you can now choose to go ahead and earn the engineering qualification. Best wishes!